Elevating Surroundings


Elevating Surroundings

By Cathleen Elise Rossiter

The other day I came across a painting my brother, David, had done entitled The Vinegar Cruet. I have always loved this painting yet never took the time to  ponder why. Well, the other day the “why?” struck me.

David paints obscure, unseen, oftentimes neglected, everyday objects or scenes. He paints them from the inside out, building layer upon layer until the object’s inherent essence and beauty are  depicted on the canvas. This method allows the object to be revealed to the viewer to whatever depth the viewer has the courage to dive. In the case of The Vinegar Cruet, the glass cruet glimmers nobly, yet in an elevated, utilitarian manner among its rather rustic surroundings. It is filled with vinegar, a sour,  oftentimes biting liquid, yet it shines nonetheless. The cruet is not featured on a lavish table amid exquisite settings; rather it is the only object on a table of unfinished planks in an unadorned room. The cruet, being glass, focuses light through itself onto its contents and reflects light on its surroundings, thereby  elevating its surroundings simply by its presence and focus.

This little cruet filled with vinegar reminds me that as long as I remain who I am in my essence (focusing light on my interior self), I will be able to see myself for who I truly am, even if at the moment I am filled with sourness. I will reflect true light upon whatever circumstances or surroundings I might find myself at any given moment. If I deal honestly with myself, I can use the sourness to bring richness and flavor to my life thereby elevating my surroundings (as vinegar is used in cooking). My environment need not drag me down to any level; rather, I may rise to higher levels, bringing my environment with me.

133 thoughts on “Elevating Surroundings

  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i am glad to express that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I such a lot no doubt will make certain to don’t omit this site and give it a look {on a continuing basis|regularly}.

    Like

  2. Great blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Cheers!

    Like

  3. I just want to mention I am very new to weblog and absolutely loved your page. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely have superb articles. Thank you for sharing your blog.

    Like

  4. I simply want to mention I’m very new to blogging and absolutely loved you’re page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You really come with excellent articles. Thanks a lot for revealing your blog site.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Timika Kizzie

Please leave a reply. I welcome your feedback. Technical issues or questions should be e-mailed to me at ArtLifeConnection@gmail.com. Thank you for visiting..

